L.A. Film Critics go with 'Hurt Locker'

Unveiling its 2009 awards today, the Los Angeles Film Critics Association anointed "The Hurt Locker" as best picture and Kathryn Bigelow as top director, Yolande Moreau as best actress for “Séraphine," Jeff Bridges as best actor for “Crazy Heart,” Mo’Nique as best supporting actress for "Precious" (over Anna Kendrick for "Up in the Air"), Chistoph Waltz as best supporting actor for "Inglourious Basterds," and Jason Reitman for best screenplay for "Up in the Air." Anne Thompson has more, plus here's the whole list at the LAFCA site.

Also in Hollywood: What's missing from the movies this year? The voice of Don LaFontaine, argues Joe Queenan.

More by Kevin Roderick:
Ralph Lawler of the Clippers and the age of Aquarius
Riding the Expo Line to USC 'just magical'
Last bastion of free parking? Loyola Marymount to charge students
Matt Kemp, Dodgers and Kings start big weekend the right way
LA Times writers revisit their '92 riots observations
Recent Hollywood stories on LA Observed:
Hollywood Reporter gets political
Rejected Joe Eszterhas' Maccabees script is "a Jewish Braveheart'
Publicist Michael Sands dies after choking on sample at Gelson's
Moving day at KCET
Mel Gibson and Joe Eszterhas exchange words over Maccabee script *

New at LA Observed
Follow us on Twitter

On the Media Page
Go to Media
On the Politics Page
Go to Politics

LA Biz Observed
Arts and culture

Sign up for daily email from LA Observed

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner

LA Observed on Twitter and Facebook