Press Club's National Entertainment Awards

Former LA Weekly film critic Scott Foundas won two awards, including print critic of the year, and KABC 7’s George Pennacchio also won a pair at the at the Los Angeles Press Club’s third annual National Entertainment Awards tonight. KTLA entertainment reporter Sam Rubin received the top individual award for career achievement, and the Detroit Free Press and’s “Motown at 50” online entertainment project won “Best of Show.” More winners after the jump.


A1. Print News

Winner: Kyle Hopkins, Anchorage Daily News, “E.T. go Nome?”

A2a. Print Feature or Series over 1,000 Words

Winner: Richard Siklos, Fortune, “The Fight Over Michael’s Millions”
Second Place: Anthony Effinger and Daniel Taub, Bloomberg Markets, “All Shook Up”
Honorable Mention: Martha Sarabia, La Opinion, “Telenovelas”

A2b. Print Feature--Personality Profile Over 1,000 words

Winner: Scott Foundas, L.A. Weekly, “Boxing, Sex and Madness: Mike Tyson, James Toback and the Ties that Bind.”
Second Place: Robert Gordon, Playboy, “Soul Man”
Honorable Mention: Eric Spitznagel, Playboy, “Andy Richter Grows Up”

A3. Print Feature under 1,000 Words

Winner: Lisa Ingrassia, People, “Kelly Osbourne: I knew if I didn’t get help, I would die”
Second Place: Martha Sarabia, La Opinion, “The Venezuelan Export Gustavo Dudamel”
Honorable Mention: Jeanne Wolf, Parade, “Have Faith in Something Big”

A4. Print Critic of the Year

Winner: Scott Foundas, L.A. Weekly, body of work
Honorable Mention: Lavender Vroman, Antelope Valley Press

A5. Best Entertainment Publication
Winner: Lavender Vroman, Julie Jane Rios, Steve Galbreath, Antelope Valley Press’ “Showcase”
Second Place: Drex Heikes, Tom Christie, Scott Foundas, L.A. Weekly Film Issue


B1. TV News

Winner: George Pennacchio, KABC/7, “Oscar Pre-Show”

B2. TV Feature/Series

Winner: George Pennacchio, KABC/7, “Crips and Bloods”
Second Place: George Pennacchio, KABC, “Misty Upham’
Honorable Mention: Shawn Edwards, Fox 4 News, Kansas City, “Chat with the Stars”

B3. TV Critic of the Year

The judges awarded no winner and encouraged TV entertainment critics to submit their most thoughtful commentary in 2011


C1. Radio News
Winner: Barbara Gasser, KroneHit, Austria, “Court decision on Chris Brown’s assault on Rihanna”

C2. Radio Feature/Series

Winner: John DeSando and Kristin Dreyer Kramer, WCBE 90.5 FM, Columbus, Ohio, “It’s Movie Time’s Year in Review”
Second Place: Brian Lauritzen and Gail Eichenthal, KUSC Los Angeles’ Arts Alive, “Nancy Bea Hefley”
Honorable Mention: Scott Immergut and Matt Holzman, KCRW Los Angeles’ The Business, “Disney Convention”

C3. Radio Critic of the Year

Winner: Joe Morgenstern, KCRW, Los Angeles
Second Place: Matt Holzman, KCRW, Los Angeles
Honorable Mention: John DeSando and Kristin Dreyer, WCBE 90.5 FM, Columbus, Ohio


D1. Online News
Winner: Andrew Gumbel,, “The Wrap Investigates the Closure of the Motion Picture & Television Fund Long-term Care Center”
Second Place: Sharon Waxman,, “Exclusive: Comcast in Talks to Buy Universal”
Honorable Mention: Jeanne Wolf,, “Saying Goodbye Isn’t Easy”

D2. Online Feature/Series

Winner: Zachary Pincus-Roth,, “Best Weekend Never”
Second Place: Steven Mikulan,
Honorable Mention: Brad Schreiber,, “Athol Fugard: Art Battling Apartheid and Aids”

D3. Online Entertainment Critic of the Year

Winner: Peter Rainer,, 2009 body of work
Second Place: Rick Warner, Bloomberg News
Honorable Mention: Desson Thomson,

D4. Entertainment Website
Winner: Detroit Free Press and, “Motown at 50”
Second Place: The Wrap,
Honorable Mention: Shawn Edwards and Valerie Freeman,

D5. Entertainment Blog by an Individual
Winner: Tom Tangney,
Second Place: Shawn Edwards,

BEST IN SHOW, $500 Prize:
Detroit Free Press,, “Motown at 50.”

More by Kevin Roderick:
Ralph Lawler of the Clippers and the age of Aquarius
Riding the Expo Line to USC 'just magical'
Last bastion of free parking? Loyola Marymount to charge students
Matt Kemp, Dodgers and Kings start big weekend the right way
LA Times writers revisit their '92 riots observations
Recent Hollywood stories on LA Observed:
Hollywood Reporter gets political
Rejected Joe Eszterhas' Maccabees script is "a Jewish Braveheart'
Publicist Michael Sands dies after choking on sample at Gelson's
Moving day at KCET
Mel Gibson and Joe Eszterhas exchange words over Maccabee script *

New at LA Observed
Follow us on Twitter

On the Media Page
Go to Media
On the Politics Page
Go to Politics

LA Biz Observed
Arts and culture

Sign up for daily email from LA Observed

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner

LA Observed on Twitter and Facebook