'Gravity' and 'Her' tie for LA Film Critics award

gravity_film_still.jpgThe Los Angeles Film Critics Association could not decide between "Gravity" and "Her for best film of the year, but they gave the director award to Alfonso Cuaron for "Gravity."

The best lead acting awards went to Bruce Dern for "Nebraska" and, in a tie, Cate Blanchett for "Blue Jasmine" and Adele Exarchopoulos for "Blue is the Warmest Color."
In the supporting actor categories, James Franco of "Spring Breakers" and Jared Leto of "Dallas Buyers Club tied while Lupita Nyong'o won for "12 Years a Slave."

The screenplay award went to Richard Linklater, Julie Delpy and Ethan Hawke for "Before Midnight." There was a special citation for "the creative team of '12 Years a Slave.'"

Full list of winners.

More by Kevin Roderick:
Susan Rasky, journalist and mentor at Berkeley was 61
State Supremes admit undocumented lawyer to the Bar
Now there is just one last Hamburger Hamlet
More than 2,000 drivers arrested on holiday DUIs in LA County
Dear NYC: Come on in, the water's fine
Recent Hollywood stories on LA Observed:
Drugs, diamonds and two Hollywood producers who shouldn't have
Susan Peters (and more Hollywood stars) ride bikes *
Julian Myers, Hollywood publicist was 97
Joan Fontaine, Oscar-winning actress was 96
Peter O'Toole, actor who played Lawrence of Arabia was 81

New at LA Observed
Follow us on Twitter

On the Media Page
Go to Media
On the Politics Page
Go to Politics

LA Biz Observed
Arts and culture

Sign up for daily email from LA Observed

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner

LA Observed on Twitter and Facebook