Dave Eggers gets two LAT book awards

At Friday night's Los Angeles Times Book Prize ceremony, Dave Eggers won the current interest award for "Zeitoun" and was given the event's first Innovators Award. Evan S. Connell won the Robert Kirsch Award for lifetime achievement, Kevin Starr won in history for "Golden Dreams: California in the Age of Abundance 1950-1963," and the top fiction prize went to Rafael Yglesias for "A Happy Marriage." LAT story | List

Previously on LA Observed:
LAO authors at Festival of Books

More by Kevin Roderick:
Standing up to Harvey Weinstein
The Media
LA Times gets a top editor with nothing but questions
LA Observed Notes: Harvey Weinstein stripped bare
LA Observed Notes: Photos of the homeless, photos that found homes
Recent Books stories on LA Observed:
Pop Sixties
LA Observed Notes: Bookstore stays open, NPR pact
Al Franken in Los Angeles many times over
His British invasion - and ours
Press freedom under Trump and the Festival of Books
Amy Dawes, 56, journalist and author
Richard Schickel, 84, film critic, director and author
The Lost Journalism of Ring Lardner: An Interview with Ron Rapoport


LA Observed on Twitter