I rarely delete non-spam comments, but have killed two that were posted late last week in the April 28 entry about the Hertzberg child support court dispute. One claimed to reveal personal details about the dispute and the Hertzberg's minor children; it was posted with a false email address, so I had no way of confirming that the name used was authentic. The other claimed to be from Hertzberg's ex-wife, but she informs me she has never posted on L.A. Observed and doesn't intend to start.
I'm pretty easy about comments that use real names and contact info; if you stand behind your words and they aren't hateful or obscene, I mostly don't object to what you say on my bandwidth. But I have no tolerance for posing as someone else or anonymous personal vendettas. I try to delete those soon as I see them, and will ban (and publicize) the IP addresses that post the comment. The comment posing as Hertzberg's ex came from IP 67.125.214.245.
On the spam front, I'm happy to report much less gets posted in the blog's comments archive since my recent upgrade and move.
I've also taken a slightly new tack when it does get through. Sometimes, instead of deleting the spam, I will render it useless to the spammer by stripping out the URL (so it won't be counted by Google, as the spammers want) and alter the text to urge people not to buy the product. Then I leave it in the comments as a counter-ad. I figure if it's posted here without permission, it's my property...
I have never understood gutless people who feel it is okay to make pejorative comments about others, yet don't have the decency to stand behind what they write...
Posted by: John Hollon at May 18, 2004 04:28 PMAs the deceased matriarch of one of the area's most prominent families, I heartily endorse your decision to ban the practice of people posing as others!
(Hey, I'm joking! Don't post my IP, whatever the hell that is)
Posted by: Dorothy "Buffy" Chandler at May 18, 2004 04:52 PMThere's always one...
Posted by: Kevin Roderick at May 18, 2004 05:00 PMThe ISP 67.125.214.245, according to the link in http://www.whoisview.com/, is a Pacific Bell customer in San Francisco.
Nancy Rommelmann talks about http://www.whoisview.com/ in her blog today: http://leavingla.journalspace.com/
http://www.whoisview.com/ is a fun and free way to see who's been visiting your site online when you cannot recognize the ISP, like http://www.cia.gov.
Posted by: A Fly on the Wall at May 18, 2004 06:39 PMhttp://www.arin.net/whois/
is another IP address searcher
Posted by: Amy Alkon at May 19, 2004 01:01 AMPS I'm loving Jay Allen's MT Blacklist. It's like a techno fly swatter. One spam post and you block them on your blacklist and they're gone!
Posted by: Amy Alkon at May 20, 2004 06:23 AMI think that's a great and very sensible policy.
Posted by: Joe Shea at May 20, 2004 11:50 PMare you sure?
Posted by: Miko Lee at July 19, 2004 03:16 PM

Not a bad idea. You can skip the first step if you upgrade to version 2.66, which automatically replaces all of the URLs on comments with redirect links. That way, the spam link will still allow a human to visit the offending web site if he wants to, but it will not boost the offender's Google ranking.
Posted by: Xrlq at May 18, 2004 03:14 PM