LA Press Club awards **

| 1 Comment

Winners were announced Saturday night at a banquet in Century City. "Journalists of the Year" were John Daniszewski, Alan Abrahamson and Brian Vander Brug (spelled wrong on the Press Club site) of the L.A. Times, Norma Zager of the Beverly Hills Courier, Dave Bryan of KCBS/KCAL and Lance Orozco of KCLU-FM. John Carroll might not be pleased to know that Jill Stewart won the award for "signed commentary" in papers of over 100,000 circulation. Full list of winners.

* Must be awards season: Also Saturday, Steve Lopez of the Times won the Ernie Pyle Lifetime Achievement Award from the National Society of Newspaper Columnists. (Via Romenesko)

Also from the Press Club: A party for visiting novelist and Pulitzer-winning crime reporter Edna Buchanan is being thrown on Thursday at the Hotel Figueroa downtown (7-10 p.m.) It is co-hosted by Amy Alkon, Cathy Seipp and Emmanuelle Richard.

More by Kevin Roderick:
Ralph Lawler of the Clippers and the age of Aquarius
Riding the Expo Line to USC 'just magical'
Last bastion of free parking? Loyola Marymount to charge students
Matt Kemp, Dodgers and Kings start big weekend the right way
LA Times writers revisit their '92 riots observations
Recent Media people stories on LA Observed:
Ralph Lawler of the Clippers and the age of Aquarius
LA Times writers revisit their '92 riots observations
Shelby Coffey, LA Times editor then, on the night the riots erupted
20 years since the riots with Warren Olney and 'Which Way, LA?'
Morning Buzz: Wednesday 4.25.12

New at LA Observed
Follow us on Twitter

On the Media Page
Go to Media
On the Politics Page
Go to Politics

LA Biz Observed
Arts and culture

Sign up for daily email from LA Observed

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner

LA Observed on Twitter and Facebook