New class of Nieman fellows announced

Anna Gorman of the Los Angeles Times is among the journalists selected to spend the year at Harvard and attend Nieman Foundation for Journalism reunions forever after. She "plans to study the intersection between poverty and public health, with a focus on health disparities and how neighborhoods impact well-being."

Noted: The winners of the Times' internal newsroom awards include — in addition to Toyota scoopsters Ralph Vartabedian and Ken Bensinger mentioned in the Morning Buzz — Joel Rubin for LAPD coverage, Jason Song and Jason Felch for investigating bad teachers, Garrett Therolf, Kim Christensen and Hector Becerra for deaths of children under the county's care, Christopher Goffard for feature writing, Diane Pucin for sports coverage, TV critic Mary McNamara for criticism, and a team of reporters on Michael Jackson for breaking news coverage. The bloggers cited were Carolyn Kellogg for Jacket Copy and the team behind Company Town.

More by Kevin Roderick:
Ralph Lawler of the Clippers and the age of Aquarius
Riding the Expo Line to USC 'just magical'
Last bastion of free parking? Loyola Marymount to charge students
Matt Kemp, Dodgers and Kings start big weekend the right way
LA Times writers revisit their '92 riots observations
Recent LAT stories on LA Observed:
LA Times writers revisit their '92 riots observations
Los Angeles more worldly since '92, LA Times 'more insular'
More recommended media coverage of the riots
Fiction does have a winner at LA Times Book Prizes
LA Times geography throws USC a curve

New at LA Observed
Follow us on Twitter

On the Media Page
Go to Media
On the Politics Page
Go to Politics

LA Biz Observed
Arts and culture

Sign up for daily email from LA Observed

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner

LA Observed on Twitter and Facebook